Employees don't always need to see all the information you keep in Nutshell. You can configure Nutshell so that certain Companies, People, and Leads are hidden from your colleagues to ensure appropriate privacy or to keep information within certain teams.
To restrict team members, they must first be placed on a team. Any Nutshell user can be added to a team for organizational purposes, but only non-admins can be given restricted access. Learn how to create Teams in Nutshell.
Note: we don't recommend putting admins on teams since administrators can already access all information in Nutshell and their level of access can interfere with non-administrators getting the proper access to the tighter restriction tiers.
How to restrict users
- Click Setup > Users & teams
- Create a new team or click an existing team
- Click to add an existing user to the team or add a new user to the team
- Drag and drop the person between the permissions tiers
You can choose from three different levels of access for new team members:
- The employee can see all data in Nutshell (you would use this when someone is not an administrator but should still have access to any information on all of your companies, people, and leads)
- The employee can see all data in their team (this setting is helpful for employees that need to work collaboratively on their projects but don't want to be distracted by information that isn't useful to their work)
- The employee can see only their own data (you can add employees to this level when you need to keep everything private except the companies, people, or leads that these employees are working with)
Can restricted users see all reports?
Yes! They can view reports, but they will only see the data they have permission to view in reports.
Can restricted users search everything in Nutshell?
- Team members in the Users that can view all data in the team tier can view everything assigned to them, anything assigned to the whole team, and anything assigned to other users within that team.
- Team members in the Users that can only view their data tier can only view Companies, People, and Leads assigned to them.
Can restricted users view all companies, people, or leads associated with a company, person, or lead that is assigned to them?
- If a lead is assigned to a user that can only view their own data, the user will be able to view the companies and/or people associated with that lead, even if they are assigned to someone else.
- If a company or person is assigned to a user that can only view their own data, the user will not be able to view any other companies, people, or leads associated with that company or person unless the associated entities are also assigned to the user.